OTL301 – Post 1

The most effective example of a practice I’ve utilized is open and timely communication with students. Surprisingly, a few of the students that I taught in an OL format, one student in a course that I acted as a two week vacation relief, asked me for letters of reference. During the course of my career I have been asked to write many letters of reference. The surprise in receiving requests from OL students is that one doesn’t usually feel that you get to know the students that well, at least relative to when interacting with the students in a face-to-face modality. On a broader scale this demonstrates that very good connections can be made between teachers and students on-line. Good connections, as discussed in OTL201, undoubtedly enhance student engagement and success.

My brief bio (from OLT201):

Hi – I’m Ron. I recently retired and moved from Kamloops, where my family resided for 24 years, to Van Anda on Texada Island (look it up). Our new abode sits on a rocky point, comprising several iconic arbutus and juniper trees, giving us 270o of waterfront with views towards Desolation Sound and the mountains behind Powell River. Views also include close ups of wildlife such as whales, sea lions, seals, mink, river otters, raccoons, bald eagles, cormorants, king fishers, great blue herons, turkey vultures, humming birds, garter snakes and more. We are also quite attuned to the wind conditions, with breakers sometimes crashing on the rocks some 40 forty feet below us.

Audio: https://soundcloud.com/user-775495235/otl201

Leave a comment